Skip to main content

Commonwealth Master's Scholarships

These scholarships are offered by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission and funded by the Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office (FCDO). They are for students from eligible low and middle income Commonwealth countries who want to study for a full-time taught master’s degree at a UK university. 

This scholarship covers: 

  • your tuition fees 
  • return travel costs 
  • a monthly stipend 
  • an allowances package 

Candidates will be chosen based on: 

  • their potential to impact the development of their home country 
  • academic merit 
  • the quality of their study plan 



This scholarship is for study across a range of subject areas. It’s offered to students whose studies fall under one of these themes: 

  • Science and technology for development 
  • Strengthening health systems and capacity 
  • Promoting global prosperity 
  • Strengthening global peace, security and governance 
  • Strengthening resilience and response to crises 
  • Access, inclusion and opportunity 


You must:  

  • be a British Protected Person, a citizen of, or a refugee in, one of the eligible countries  
  • live permanently in one of the eligible countries 
  • be available to start your academic studies by the start of the UK academic year in September 
  • have by September either a degree of at least upper second class (2:1) honours or a second class degree (2:2) and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a master’s degree) 
  • be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship 
  • provide all supporting documentation in the required format 

The Commonwealth Scholarship Commission provides more information on this scholarship. 

The Commission will normally only fund your first UK master’s degree. You’ll need to provide justification If you’re applying for a second UK master’s degree. 


Eligible Commonwealth countries 

  • Bangladesh 
  • Belize 
  • Botswana 
  • Cameroon 
  • Dominica 
  • Eswatini 
  • Fiji 
  • Gabon 
  • The Gambia 
  • Ghana 
  • Grenada 
  • Guyana 
  • India 
  • Jamaica 
  • Kenya 
  • Kiribati 
  • Lesotho 
  • Malawi 
  • Malaysia 
  • Maldives 
  • Mauritius 
  • Montserrat 
  • Mozambique 
  • Namibia 
  • Nauru 
  • Nigeria 
  • Pakistan 
  • Papua New Guinea 
  • Rwanda 
  • Saint Helena 
  • Saint Lucia 
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines 
  • Samoa 
  • Sierra Leone 
  • Solomon Islands 
  • South Africa 
  • Sri Lanka 
  • Tanzania 
  • Togo 
  • Tonga 
  • Tuvalu 
  • Uganda 
  • Vanuatu 
  • Zambia  


How to apply 

2. Apply for your master’s degree at Southampton, stating that you wish to be considered for Commonwealth Scholarship funding.