Skip to main content

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships

Applications for Commonwealth Shared Scholarships for 2024 entry are now closed.
You will be notified of the outcome of your applications by June 2024.
The page is correct as of December 2023 and is for information only.

These scholarships are jointly offered by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission and selected UK universities. They support students from developing Commonwealth countries who would not otherwise be able to study in the United Kingdom.

This scholarship is for postgraduate master’s study and offers: 

  • full cover of your tuition fees 
  • return travel costs 
  • a monthly stipend 
  • an allowances package 
  • costs for a mandatory tuberculosis test 


This scholarship is for study on specific courses across a range of subject areas. The list of eligible programmes for 2024 are: 

You must: 

  • be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country
  • be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country 
  • be available to start your studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September 2024 
  • achieve a 1st or upper second class (2:1) honours standard or have a second class degree (2:2) and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a master’s degree) by September 2024
  • not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a high income country 
  • be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship 
  • commit to return to your home country within one month of the end date of the scholarship 
  • meet the required English language requirements by March 2024 at the latest 

Eligible Commonwealth countries 

  • Bangladesh 
  • Belize 
  • Botswana 
  • Cameroon 
  • Dominica 
  • Eswatini 
  • Fiji 
  • Gabon 
  • The Gambia 
  • Ghana 
  • Grenada 
  • Guyana 
  • India 
  • Jamaica 
  • Kenya 
  • Kiribati 
  • Lesotho 
  • Malawi 
  • Malaysia 
  • Maldives 
  • Mauritius 
  • Monserrat 
  • Mozambique 
  • Namibia 
  • Nauru 
  • Nigeria 
  • Pakistan 
  • Papua New Guinea 
  • Rwanda 
  • Saint Helena 
  • Saint Lucia 
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines 
  • Samoa 
  • Sierra Leone 
  • Solomon Islands 
  • South Africa 
  • Sri Lanka 
  • Tanzania 
  • Togo 
  • Tonga 
  • Tuvalu 
  • Uganda 
  • Vanuatu 
  • Zambia 

Deadline to apply 

Applications for Commonwealth Shared Scholarships open on 16 November 2023 and close at 16:00 UK time on 14 December 2023. 

How to apply 

 You should complete and submit your application as soon as possible.  

Shortlisted applicants will be contacted in mid-February with an invitation to submit their application for their chosen programme using our online application form.